My entry for Jo’s comp – Flatbreads

My entry pic for Jo's flatbread competition!

My entry pic for Jo’s flatbread competition!

As Jo’s competition deadline is on Monday 11th Feb, I thought I better get a crack on making the halloumi and chilli flake flatbreads! I did make them a couple of weeks ago but couldn’t work out why they were very sticky!! This time round, they were better, thinner but still very sticky! My kitchen was an absolute mess as the dough was sticking to the work top, my hands…everywhere!!! In the receipe, it would say to roll the dough into a disc like the size of a saucer, mine were not quite that size as I felt when I rolled them out, it was sticking to my work top and then I wouldn’t be able to lift them off!!

Once on the griddle pan, they fried quite nicely, they had the texture of a pitta bread as it puffs up. I made a mixed bean bake and brought some dips to go with this and it was delicious!! I did worry that my hubby wouldn’t like today’s dinner as it didn’t contain any meat but he really enjoyed the food so I was very pleased! 🙂

Here’s the receipe if you are interested in making these flatbreads and if you can solve the issue of the ‘stickiness’ please let me know!!!

  • 300g Self Raising Flour, plus extra for kneading
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 300g greek yoghurt
  • 1 tbsp chilli flakes
  • 80g halloumi, crumbled
  • Chilli – infused oil to fry

Tip the flour, baking powder and salt into a food processor. Then add the greek yoghurt and chilli flakes and whizz until the dough comes together.

Please bear in mind that when I made this, my dough felt wet and sticky which I don’t think is right?! Turn the dough onto a lightly floured work surface and knead until smooth. I had to use a fair bit of flour to make the mixture not so sticky! Mix the crumbled halloumi into the dough and divide into 8 pieces. Roll out each piece to a size of a saucer. Heat your griddle pan over a medium heat and brush with the chilli oil and the fry the flatbreads for 3 – 5 minutes so that each side is golden brown.

Sticky dough!

Sticky dough!

Dough

Rolling them out

Rolling them out

Frying the flatbreads on the griddle pan

Frying the flatbreads on the griddle pan

 

 

Leave a comment